Which of the following is considered a somatic sense?

Somatic senses (“soma” means body) detect touch, pain pressure, temperature, and tension on the skin and in internal organs. 4. Special senses detect the sensations of taste, smell, hearing, equilibrium, and sight, only in special sense organs in the head region (a phenomenon known as “cephalization”).

What are somatic senses quizlet?

somatic senses. senses of touch, pressure, temperature, and pain. special senses. senses that include complex specialized organs(smell, taste, hearing, equilibrium, and vision)

What are the types of somatic sensations?

There are several forms of somatic sensation, Exteroceptive, including mechanoreception, thermoreception and nociception, Proprioception, and Interoception.

What are the 4 types of sensations for somatic receptors?

Somatic sensation (or somesthesia) is usually considered to be a combination of at least four sensory modalities: the senses of touch, temperature, body position (proprioception), and pain (nociception). To meet a wide array of sensory demands, many kinds of specialized receptors are required.

Is touch a somatic sense?

Somatic senses are sometimes referred to as somesthetic senses, with the understanding that somesthesis includes the sense of touch, proprioception (sense of position and movement), and (depending on usage) haptic perception.

IMPORTANT:  What does a psychiatrist help you with?

Which type of somatic receptor detects touch and pressure in the skin?

Meissner’s corpuscles, also known as tactile corpuscles, are found in the upper dermis, but they project into the epidermis. They are found primarily in the glabrous skin on the fingertips and eyelids. They respond to fine touch and pressure, but they also respond to low-frequency vibration or flutter.

Which of the following somatic receptors consists of free nerve endings?

*Nociceptors – these are the receptors for pain, and are free nerve endings found in every tissue of the body except the brain. intense thermal, mechanical, or chemical stimuli can activate these receptors.

What are somatic sensations?

Somatic Sensation: bodily sensations of touch, pain, temperature, vibration, and proprioception. ( Blumenfeld, 276) The process by which the nature and meaning of tactile stimuli are recognized and interpreted by the brain, such as realizing the characteristics or name of an object being touched. (

What are somatic and visceral sensations?

Somatic sensation is localized precisely to the site of origin, whereas visceral sensation is vague, often referred to somatic structures and radiates to one or other side of the body (Polland and Bloomfield, 1931; Cervero, 1985;Ness and Gebhart, 1990).

Which are examples of somatosensory senses?

What are the following examples of:

  • tactile sensations ( touch, pressure, vibration.
  • thermal sensations ( warm and cold )
  • pain sensations.
  • proprioceptive sensations ( joint and muscle position sense and movements of the limbs and head)

What are types of somatic sensory receptors?

Somatic sensory receptors near the surface of the skin can usually be divided into two groups based on morphology:

  • Free nerve endings characterize the nociceptors and thermoreceptors.
  • Encapsulated receptors consist of the remaining types of cutaneous receptors. Encapsulation exists for specialized functioning.
IMPORTANT:  Why is it crucial for managers to manage emotions at work?

What are the 3 types of somatic receptors responsible for transmitting pain?

Three types of stimuli can activate pain receptors in peripheral tissues: mechanical (pressure, pinch), heat, and chemical. Mechanical and heat stimuli are usually brief, whereas chemical stimuli are usually long lasting. Nothing is known about how these stimuli activate nociceptors.

Is proprioception a somatic sense?

The somatosensory systems process information about, and represent, several modalities of somatic sensation (i.e., pain, temperature, touch, proprioception).

What are the specific senses?

Special senses include vision (for which the eyes are the specialized sense organs), hearing (ears), balance (ears), taste (tongue), and smell (nasal passages). General senses , in contrast, are all associated with the sense of touch. They lack special sense organs.

What is somatic anatomy?

The somatic nervous system is a component of the peripheral nervous system associated with the voluntary control of the body movements via the use of skeletal muscles.